Quarantining myself

I can’t think of anything but Blood Flu lately. I try to imagine it coming here, like Mei’s convinced it will, but I can’t. I know something hit San Francisco, but I think that’s just folk being jumpy at every cough – there’s no way the infected can get past the closed airports and border quarantines. Then again, neither can just about all the seasonal workers the industry relies on, especially us small farmers. We’re just sitting here waiting to see what collapses first – the borders or the economy. Dad’s started calculating whether it’s better to branch out into bioplastics and lose our Friendly Frankenstein status or just sell up and be done with it. I kind of went a little mad when he said that. I grew up here, I don’t ever want to leave this place. So I just keep thinking it’ll blow over, and then refreshing my feeds and looking at more depressing stats.

It’s unbelievable how many people are estimated dead in Guanxi – it’s like, the entire population of New York City, or double the population of the whole of New Jersey, and that’s just in the one province. I just keep comparing the figures and then thinking, no, I can’t get my head round that. And then I just think of Mei and those students in PKU, surrounded by all that and holding out. It’s too huge. I can’t imagine it. I keep saying the wrong thing because I’ve just got no idea what it’s like for her.

So I’ve decided to do something that might sound dumb. I’m going to find out. I’m going to stay in my house, seeing no-one, until the end of Mei’s quarantine. Call it a romantic gesture, or a safety measure, or whatever. I’ll do my duties around the farm, but I’ll stay out of talking distance of everybody. I’ll eat on my own and only talk on SkIMp. I’ll see what it means to be isolated.

My family aren’t as keen as I thought they’d be to get me out their hair for the next month. My sis was the first to say I’d just use it to get out of work, Mom says she doesn’t get what it’s meant to achieve and Dad thinks it’s just another pointless gesture I won’t follow through on. Like that Zombie comic. Like all the comics and animations and cover illustrations.

So what do you guys think? Do you see what I’m trying to do?

16 thoughts on “Quarantining myself

  1. I can sort of see it, but perhaps the best way to prove that you’re serious would be to answer your family’s concerns before you start to closet yourself away. Maybe if you used the opportunity to finish your zombie comic?

    • Can’t really concentrate on it. All this has taken me out of the right mindframe. I want to prove to them I’m serious by doing this quarantine. I can do that, can’t I?

  2. I am sorry but I agree with your mother. How will it help me or the quarantine for you to sit in your house alone? I want nothing more than to be with my family now. You cannot find out how I feel by pretending you cannot be with yours when they are a short walk away. I hope you never find out how I feel, I don’t want anybody to feel this way. Be prepared for a quarantine when you need to, but don’t waste time you could spend with your family sitting alone.

      • Maybe something a bit more practical. A fundraiser? If there are any NGOs still able to do work that could help. Ben’s last comment wasn’t encouraging.

Sow a seed

